Fall TV 2014…Observations on the new sitcoms

Fall TV 2014 has been kind of a disappointment for me.  I am not a lover of zombies, vampires and freak shows.  I love sitcoms but I find myself indifferent to a lot of the new ones being offered this season.

Take “Black-ish” for example.  The title turned me off but I decided to give it a shot because the Executive Producers are Anthony Anderson and Laurence Fishburne and I respect their work.  Well….it’s kinda funny.  Tracee Ellis Ross is an excellent comedic actress and she does a great job. The actors who portray the twins are hilarious.   I’m just on the fence about the show.  To me, the term black-ish is rather stupid.  Either you are black or you’re not.  It’s a color, not a behavior.

CBS has altered their very successful Monday night comedy block in favor of adding a drama at 9pm called “Scorpion”.  I don’t care what it is about because when I come home after a long day I want TV shows that make me laugh.  Two hours of Dancing with the Stars and The Voice just don’t do it for me.  “The Millers” starring Will Arnett and JB Smoove is well written and funny.   It has veteran TV show runner James Brooks behind it and he rarely if ever produces a bad show.  I am most anticipating TV vet Laurie Metcalf’s return to TV  Thursday nights in “The McCarthys”.  It’s a family sitcom about a boisterous sports crazed family set in Boston.

Tuesday night ABC offers “Selfie” which Entertainment weekly describes as “the modern struggles of Eliza and Henry, as he tries to teach her how to live life offline—whether she ‘likes’ it or not”….. Blech!…. and “Manhattan Love Story”,  romantic comedy that exposes the differences between men and women through the unfiltered thoughts, and often contradictory actions, of a new couple who have just begun dating.   I tried to watch and fell asleep 10 minutes in.

NBC has a promising sitcom called Marry Me with former SNL player Casey Wilson.  The chemistry between Wilson and her co-star crackles and drew me in just from watching the promos.   I will have to get back to you on “About A Boy” starring Minnie Driver”.  I’m not sure I care.  I was also sucked in by the chemistry shown by the two actors on “From A to Z”.   The show  takes us through their relationship from beginning to end.   Get it?  A to Z?  How is that interesting?  Each episode begins with a letter of the alphabet .  ie: ” A is for acquaintance”.   Why should I care about these people????

Bad Judge starring Kate Walsh is a completely ridiculous show about a respected judge who is still a “wild child” and goes around doing wacky things in her personal life.  Produced by Will Ferrell and Adam McKay, the show should be reasonably funny.  I’ve seen one show and all I could think was…how is this chick a judge?  But I watch Scandal so if I could suspend belief about that show, I should be able to give “Bad Judge” a shot.

ABC has a hit on Friday night.   “Cristela” is hilarious!  Comedian Cristela Alonzo is an executive producer and the show overflows with funny.  The show focuses on Cristela who lives with her family and is in her sixth year of law school.  She is very ambitious and that doesn’t sit well with her traditional Mexican family.  Gabriel Iglesias is also a part of the cast and he is one of the funniest stand-up comedians working today.

That’s it for now.  More TV observations coming soon.

 

Leave a Reply

