Holiday episodes, specials and…why does Mariah Carey have a reality show?

I recently read a GQ article about my dearly departed huzzbund Prince where it was reported that Prince was going to do a reality show about Paisley Park but he wasn’t going to be in it.  I am so glad it’s never gonna happen.  Which is exactly how I feel about Mariah Carey and her reality show currently airing on the E Network.  Why would I want to watch the antics of an over 40 mother of two who insists on wearing clothes that remind you of a burlesque dancer?  Why lawd why?  I suppose if the late Joan Rivers could have a reality show about her life and her daughter, Mariah Carey can shoot her best shot in the reality cesspool.

“VHI’s Diva’s Holiday Special Unsilent night” aired on December 5th at 9pm.  I caught the re-broadcast on Sunday morning.  I loved the opening skit with Diva’s Patti Labelle, Chaka Khan and Vanessa Williams schooled newcomer Teyana Taylor on some rules for being a Diva.  Of course Patti performed (no Patti pies though and didn’t she seem mean yellin at that lady in the Walmart commercial?  I mean, Patti came to HER house holding a pie.  What did she expect? )  Sorry, I digress.  The Diva’s special was fantastic.  Even better?…we got a sneak peek of the upcoming Star Jones drama series “Daytime Diva’s”  about the backstage goings on at a daytime talk show.  Based on the book “Satan Sisters”, it stars one of my personal sheros, Vanessa Williams and Tichina Arnold.  I will definitely watch.

I finally caught an an episode of “Martha and Snoop’s Potluck Dinner Party !  Their“Deck The Balls” Christmas episode was the zaniest.  They started out making egg nog.  I paid more attention to Snoop and his double entendre antics than I did to Martha’s recipe. Snoop fried some catfish and clearly knows what he’s doing. He said his mom taught him how to cook and that he’s teaching his kids how to cook too.   I’m not watching this show for cooking tips!   I got the Food Network and The Cooking Channel for that.  What I love about this show is it’s hosts have two very different personalities, clearly vibing and sharing conversation and food.  Very similar to another show I love on the MSG network  “Four Courses with JB Smoove”.

I got sucked into watching ABC’s “Great American Baking show” while channel surfing one night.   It was cake week and 8 amateur bakers faced off making bundt cake.   Judges Mary and Johnny asked them to make a winter bundt cake which meant it should have holiday flavors like peppermint and swirls and such in it.  They had me at cake.

Dwayne Johnson, also known as The Rock will host “Rock The Troops” December 13th on Spike TV.  The star studded line up includes Kevin Hart and FloRida and focuses on meaningful tributes to our military veterans.  If the surprise  I saw on the Tonight Show recently is an example of what we will see, I suggest you have a box of tissues nearby.

BET ‘s “A Very Soul Train Christmas Gospel Edition”  aired Sunday morning at 10am EST.  It featured memorable Soul Train performances over the years from Babyface, Yolanda Adams, Take 6, Chaka Khan, Kirk Franklin and more.  Hosted by Bill Bellamy and LeToya Luckett.

Aspire TV aired a beautiful traditional Christmas Special with The Morehouse/Spellman Christmas Carol Concert.  The glee club from both HBCU’s sang beautiful renditions of traditional Christmas hymns.  It took me back to Sunday mornings with my Gran Gran before church.

Wouldn’t it be cool if Cedric The Entertainer had an annual Christmas Variety Show?  Years ago, Cedric had a variety show on Fox that was hilarious, highly rated and of course, short lived.  I would LOVE to see him revive that show in a holiday format.  He could do skits with other stars and musical guests, much like Carol Burnett did back in the 70’s.  How about it BET?  TV ONE?  Aspire?  OWN?

Merry Christmas everyone!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Holiday episodes, specials and…why does Mariah Carey have a reality show?

Leave a Reply

