I don’t care, wait…do I care the new Bachelorette is black?

Look, I loathe ABC’s The Bachelor and The Bachelorette.  I have never watched one episode.  The promos were very effective at driving me away.  If I saw one more silly girl weeping over some dude who really could give less than a crap about anything other than his 15 minutes of fame and the paycheck he will receive, I’d have to…well watch something else.

But then, I found out the next Bachelorette is going to be a black lady.  So now I’m torn.  Do I watch this to see exactly what sort of men she gets to choose from?  Do I want to see how she’s going to put them through their paces?  Apparently, she was on this season’s The Bachelor and according to ABC’s press release, “she captivated Bachelor Nation with her beauty, smile and wit”.  (come on, you know the whole thing is scripted….right?)

I really hate reality shows like this but I might have to sit through one or two episodes of The Bachelorette. *shuddering*  I just don’t know about this….

Meanwhile, over on TVOne, Tony Rock (yep, Chris Rock’s younger brother) hosts “The Game of Dating“where teams of people watch real dates from a hidden camera and try to figure out what they will do next for cash. It premiered January 31st.   How bad could this be?  a) Maybe it won’t be bad and turn out to be funny, (b) it will be so bad, THAT it’s funny or (c) none of the above.  The answer is (c) none of the above.  I just don’t see where the entertainment is.  This show reminds me of Bravo’sThe People’s Couch” where people sit on their living room couch, watch tv and react. (I should’ve been on that show)

Speaking of so bad it’s funny, have you seen “Vivica’s Black Magic” male stripper show on Lifetime?  I knew this was gonna be badly funny when cast member “White Chocolate” auditioned.  While I loved his personality, the minute he started dancing, his moves showcased his out of shape no six pack having torso.  If you are trying to lure investors to help you put a Vegas show together, you do not use someone whose body needs at least three months of intense exercise. The hilarity continued when Vivica hired Darren Henson (from Darrin’s Dance Grooves of the 90’s) to choreograph the show.  This created “drama” because one guy thought his moves were dated, and decided to take over the choreography.  That drama was so manufactured, I thought I saw “made in China” at the bottom of the screen.  I couldn’t continue watching this show.  Vivica Fox‘s personality annoys me and the show itself is a cheap, poorly written, fake drama filled waste of my time.

I’m looking forward to Jennifer Lopez‘s “World of Dance” reality show which is said to premiere this spring.  It will showcase elite dancers of varied age groups competing in a wide range of dance styles including ballet, hip hop, tap and more. Professional dancer Derek Hough from “Dancing with the Stars and R&B singer/dancer Neyo are signed on to the show as judges.

I’m also looking forward to the new season of NBC’s America’s Got Talent.  Why you ask?  It’s my favorite summer feel good show and because Nick Cannon is out as host.  He quit the show over NBC having issues with his “stand-up comedy” special.  Nick Cannon is not a comedian, nor is he funny. This was his third special.   How did he get one?  I guess Showtime is the place for mediocre comedy (see Gary Owen).   The only time I enjoy Cannon is when Kevin Hart roasts him on “The Real Husbands of Hollywood“.  Joey Fatone (Yep, from N’Sync) would be a great replacement.  Lets see what happens.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

